Michel Pereira says that the illegal knee that he threw never landed on the head of Diego Sanchez this past Saturday. At UFC Rio Rancho, Pereira was looking to get back in the win column against Sanchez.
After winning the opening two rounds of the fight, Pereira threw an illegal knee that appeared to hit Sanchez in the head while he was on the ground. The referee called the strike illegal, and because Sanchez couldn’t continue, he was awarded the DQ win.
The Brazilian is still angry over losing this way and recently took to Twitter to show that his knee hit Sanchez’s chest.
“That was the knee that opened the cut on his forehead, the other knee took the chest,” Pereira tweeted.
As he shows in the tweet, Michel Pereira doesn’t think that the knee hit the head and the cut Sanchez sustained was from a knee that occurred seconds before the fight hit the mat.
It’s up for debate whether or not the knee hit the head, and given the fact it is a picture, you can’t really tell if the knee had hit it before or after where Pereira circles. Naturally, Pereira was not happy Diego took the DQ win, which Sanchez claimed was a “smart, veteran move“.
Michel Pereira has also said that Diego Sanchez is a chicken for not continuing. With this recent DQ loss, Pereira is now 1-2 in the UFC and on a two-fight losing streak as he lost to Tristan Connelly in a major upset in the fight before.
In his Octagon debut, he knocked out Danny Roberts is highlight reel fashion. Diego Sanchez, meanwhile, returned to the win column after he lost to Michael Chiesa at UFC 239. Before that, he had TKO’d Mickey Gall and beat Craig White by decision. He improved to 30-12 with the win.
This article first appeared on CLOSEDGUARDMEDIA.com on 19th February, 2020.
Discussion about this post