UFC Light-Heavyweight Magomed Ankalaev says that he hurt Ion Cutelaba with kicks, but is willing to do a rematch if the UFC wants it.
Magomed Ankalaev was awarded the TKO win early in the 1st-round after landing a few kicks to the body and head of Cutelaba, who appeared to be wobbled by them. Apparently, Cutelaba was just faking to lure Anakaev in, which became apparent as soon as referee Kevin MacDonald stopped the contest. When watching the replay, it also revealed that Cutelaba had actually blocked most of the strikes. The MMA community reacted to it calling it the worst stoppage they’ve ever seen, as Cutelaba was clearly still in the fight and it should have never been stopped. You can watch the highlights from UFC Norfolk, including ones from this infamous contest here.
Without a doubt this was an early stoppage and it is sure to cause controversy going forward. Speaking to the media after the bout, Ankalaev was asked if he would be willing to do a rematch. The Russian said he will do it, if that’s what the UFC want. He also added that he hurt Cutelaba with kicks and doesn’t think that the stoppage was too controversial.
“All I can say is that I hurt him. I connected the high kick and he was wobbling, and the referee stepped in to stop the fight. That’s all I have,” Magomed told MMAjunkie.com.
“I don’t need the rematch, but if the UFC makes it, then I will accept. I don’t turn down fights. I will fly back home and spend time with my family because it was a long camp.”
Ankalaev also revealed what he said to Cutelaba after the bout. The Russian said that Cutelaba was telling him that it was all going to plan until the referee intervened, but Ankalaev explained that referee was just doing his job.
“I talked to Ion and he was complaining about the decision, but I just said the ref was doing his job. Ion said it was all going to plan. I don’t know what he meant,” Ankalaev said.
This article first appeared on CLOSEDGUARDMEDIA.com on 2nd March, 2020.