Former boxing champion Deontay Wilder is planning to sack his coach after he threw the towel in during the rematch against Tyson Fury.
Deontay Wilder faced Tyson Fury in their highly anticipated rematch last Saturday in Las Vegas. Fury was able to maintain constant pressure to stay out of harm’s way from the huge punching power of Wilder. Wilder suffered 2 knockdowns before his corner threw in the towler in the 7th round. Tyson Fury seemed to just be unloading on Wilder, and the American wasn’t able to retaliate effectively. To stop Deontay Wilder from taking any more unnecessary damage, his coach Mark Breland threw in the towel in the 7th round and the referee called a stop to the contest. ‘The Gypsy King’ thus was awarded the TKO victory.
Mark Breland has been widely praised for saving his fighter from taking further punishment. However, recently Wilder’s head coach Jay Deas announced that he did not agree with the decision and believed the fight could have went on.
Wilder has confirmed his plan to use his rematch clause for a trilogy fight against Fury. First on Wilder’s to-do list before this potential rematch is getting rid of the Mark Breland.
“I am upset with Mark for the simple fact that we’ve talked about this many times and it’s not emotional,” Wilder said to Yahoo.
“It is not an emotional thing, it’s a principal thing. We’ve talked about this situation many, many years before this even happened. I said as a warrior, as a champion, as a leader, as a ruler, I want to go out on my shield. If I’m talking about going in and killing a man, I respect the same way. I abide by the same principle of receiving. So I told my team to never, ever, no matter what it may look like, to never throw the towel in with me because I’m a special kind. I still had five rounds left. No matter what it looked like, I was still in the fight. I understand he was looking out for me and trying to do what he felt was right, but this is my life and my career and he has to accept my wishes.”
Wilder was criticized the referee, Kenny Bayless as he believed he let Fury hit him on the back of the head:
“The referee told me specifically that if I hit him in the back of the head or hit him on the break, he’d disqualify me,” he added. “But I guess that was only directed toward me, because he allowed Fury to do those things. That’s the one thing that bothered me of everything.”
This article first appeared on CLOSEDGUARDMEDIA.com on 26th February, 2020.